Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Happy Book Birthday! NEW RELEASES December 2016

With the year winding to a close there are only a handful of new 2016 books hitting shelves this month!

Today I've gathered all of December's releases for 1 mega Happy Birthday post!

A big Happy Birthday to all these lovelies!

December 6
Black Moon (Zodiac #3) by Romina Russell | Razorbill | GOODREADS

Spindle (A Thousand Nights #2) by E. K. Johnston | Disney-Hyperion | GOODREADS

Rebellion (The 100 #4) by Kass Morgan | Little, Brown Books for Young Readers | GOODREADS

Mind Games (Lock & Mori #2) by Heather W. Petty | Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers | GOODREADS

December 13

Crystal Storm (Falling Kingdoms #5) by Morgan Rhodes | Razorbill | GOODREADS

Forever, Again by Victoria Laurie | Disney-Hyperion | GOODREADS

Icelingby Sasha Stephenson | Razorbill | GOODREADS

December 27
Take the Key and Lock Her Up (Embassy Row #3) by Ally Carter | Scholastic Press | GOODREADS

Rules of the Game (Endgame #3) by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton | HarperCollins | GOODREADS

Thirteen Reasons Why 10th Anniversary Edition by Jay Asher | Razorbill | GOODREADS

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill | HMH Books for Young Readers | GOODREADS

The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee | Katherine Tegen Books | GOODREADS

Any birthday book buying planned this month?
What new releases are you most excited for?


Monday, December 5, 2016

November 2016 Wrap Up: The Forgotten Month Edition -- oooOOOooo!

November was spoooky! Because it's like it never existed because I can't even tell you what I got done cause oooOOOOoooo -- spoooooky!

Or.

I'm just lame.

I kinda forgot it was December.

Which is weird because I've also been ranting all week "OMG IT'S DECEMBER AND I HAVE SO MUCH TO DO BEFORE CHRISTMAS!"

Selective memory?

Ga!

In any case, along with being lame I'm also very tired, busy, and lazy (but you love me cause I'm also awesome).

So!

Here is a (lame) list of books that I did stuff with this month!

Huzzah!

THE REVIEWS
Dotwav by Mike A. Lancaster | REVIEW 5 / 5 Stars
Sweet by Emmy Laybourne | REVIEW 4 / 5 Stars

NOVEMBER READS
The Women in the Walls by Amy Lukavics
The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid
The Beast is an Animal by Peternelle van Arsdale

This part is new this month!
I'm wholly embracing my addiction to Instagram and really trying to up my Booksagram posts!
Here is what I put out there last month (I'm @WilowRaven if you want to give a follow - I'll most likely follow you back!)









Hope everyone had a great
November
Happy Reading!



Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Happy 10th Anniversary to VAMPIRE ACADEMY + Giveaway

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead is 10 years old! Can you believe it?!

I read it so very long ago but I can still remember the details -- that's the mark of a great story right there. Oh! There was this one part...close to the end...with the girl and the guy and the stuff and the things -- love love love it!

With all the love I had for Vampire Academy I have no idea why I never continued on with the series. AND I have no idea where my old copy is. BUT this last part is actually a good thing BECAUSE!

TA DA!

Richelle Mead celebrates 10 years of Vampire Academy with an exclusive, never-before-seen collection of stories that sheds new light on the world and its players:

  • The Turn and the Flame takes a deeper look into the dark stain on the Ozera dynasty...
  • Hello My Name is Rose Hathaway tracks the shenanigans that ensue when Rose and Dimitri become unlikely teammates in a high-stakes scavenger hunt...
  • The Meeting gives us a glimpse of Rose Hathaway through Dimitri's eyes...
  • From the Journal of Vasilisa Dragomir unearths the princess's private thoughts from a transformative period of her life...

St. Vladimir's Academy isn't just any boarding school--it's a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They've been on the run, but now they're being dragged back to St. Vladimir's--the very place where they're most in danger. . . .

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy's ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi--the world's fiercest and most dangerous vampires--make Lissa one of them forever.

Look at this 10th Anniversary edition!

Do you love the cover? I love the cover! (honestly, the originally cover didn't really do anything for me) And those extras! Yes please. I cannot wait to get my hands on this beauty! I'm thinking I can sneak a re-read in next month ;)

To celebrate, the lovely folks at Penguin are giving away 5 copies of the 10th Anniversary edition!

If you haven't read the Vampire Academy series, now is a great time to start.

Good luck everyone!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Enter for a chance to win one of five (5) paperback copies of Vampire Academy 10th Anniversary Edition by Richelle Mead (ARV = $11.99 each).
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 9:00 AM Eastern Time on November 29, 2016 and 11:59 PM Eastern Time on December 5, 2016. Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about December 12, 2016. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.


Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Happy Book Birthday! NEW RELEASES November 22, 2016

A big Happy Birthday to these lovelies today!


Scythe by Neal Shusterman | Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers | GOODREADS

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst and Jordan Saia | Balzer + Bray | GOODREADS

Gap Life by John Coy | Feiwel & Friends | GOODREADS

Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly | Kathy Dawson Books | GOODREADS

Fate of Flames by Sarah Raughley | Simon Pulse | GOODREADS


And my Pick of the Day is....

Scythe by Neal Shusterman

I've loved pretty much everything by Neal I have ever read and I can't see why Scythe would be the exception!

I love the way he tells stories. There is always so much going on but everything fits together so well.

Any birthday book buying planned into your day?
What new releases are you most excited for?

Monday, November 21, 2016

Book Review: Dotwav by Mike A. Lancaster

Genre: YA Sci-fi Thriller
Publication: September 2016 by Sky Pony Press
Acquisition: received an ARC at ALAAC 2016

Synopsis:
“There’s something in that sound. Something bad. Something dangerous.”

Fifteen-year-old Ani Lee is a skilled hacker researching a strange .wav file that she’s downloaded when it behaves as no file ever should.

Joe Dyson is a seventeen-year-old American transplant recruited into a secret teen division of the British intelligence service who’s looking into the disappearance of a friend caught up in an underground music scene that might be more than it appears.

When Ani and Joe’s investigations intertwine, they discover that the .wav file and the music are linked—someone’s embedding the file into tracks to create a mind-controlled teen army.

But who’s behind it? And why? And how do you stop a sound?

An exhilarating sci-fi techno-thriller that blends music, mind control, and conspiracy perfect for fans of Little Brother, Brain Jack, and Proxy.
(from Goodreads)
5 / 5 Stars

I. Love. This. Book.

I've been a huge fan of Lancaster's from pretty much the first page of his first book, Human .4. His second book, a follow up to Human .4, was also fantastic so Dotwav was already sitting pretty high up on that pedestal.

As it should be!

Again, because:
I. Love. This. Book.

It's just a great story - lots of layers and great characters and fabulous sci-fi. It's the fabulous sci-fi that really does it for me. YA sci-fi can be tricky. I've been burned before but not so with Dotwav. So many things are going on and while it's a little over the top, realism wise, it all makes total sense in the big picture.

It's got a Mission Impossible type feel - only cooler and with young people. It also reminded me of that so horrible you have to love it movie, Hackers - without Jolie's huge lips getting in the way of everything.

Oh! And there's a twist...ish...towards the end - I didn't see it coming at least - and it was freaken cool.

If YA sci-fi is your thing you should for sure check out Dotwav (and Lancaster's other books!). I would also recommend this book to reluctant teen readers (boys and girls) as it's just a fun story that flows well and keeps you engaged page after page. Also, there is little to no romance and the main protag is male, which is always refreshing to me since most YA book I read have female MCs.

Mike has become one of my always read authors and I can't wait to read whatever it is he has planned next!